28th Annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award Winners Announced

The Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award’s Program was established by the Ohio Superintendent’s Educational Service Center Association to promote student achievement and recognize outstanding students. A senior from each county within the State of Ohio will receive the award annually.

This scholarship award is named in honor of Franklin B. Walter who served as State Superintendent Of Education for Ohio from March 1977 until August 1991. Throughout his career, Dr. Walter exemplified concern for young people and dedicated his life to the improvement of education in Ohio.

The applicant must be a high school senior from a local, city or exempted village school within the County. Eligible students must demonstrate outstanding academic achievements as indicated by high school test scores and achievement awards as stipulated by the Franklin B. Walter program.

The students are expected to have been a positive contributor in their high school and in their Community. All applications must be completed according to deadlines established.

One student from each county will be invited along with his or her parents to attend a special recognition luncheon in Columbus in April. This luncheon is provided by the Ohio Educational Service Center Association. At this time, students and parents are recognized for their achievement.

Local Enhancement
The Northwest Ohio Educational Service Center, serving Defiance, Fulton, Henry and Williams Counties, fully supports the Franklin B. Walter Program. However, we have expanded the recognition. Outstanding students in each district will receive a scholarship award of $200 each while one county winner will be awarded $500. The NwOESC also honors a special education provider from each county for the work done on behalf of students with disabilities across northwest Ohio.

Teacher Recognition
To promote teaching excellence along with student achievement, one teacher is recognized in each district. The applying student is asked to write a tribute to the teacher who has been the most positive influence on the student’s success in school.

Local Winners
(* Denotes County Winner)
District – County – Student Winner – Honored Teacher
Archbold – Fulton – Camden Warncke – Andrea Oyer
Bryan – Williams – Katelynn Mock – Matt Neff
Edgerton – Williams – Devin Herman – Matt Ripke
Edon Northwest – Williams – Karissa Sonnenberg – Suzanne Hollabaugh
Evergreen – Fulton – Leah Schwan – Kristen Woodard
Fayette – Fulton – Gavin Liechty – Mr. Sanderson
Millcreek-West Unity – Williams – Syndi Rivera – Jen Yoh
Montpelier – Williams – Meili Leung* – Shirley Fry
North Central – Williams – Allyson Hutchison – Kelli Hills
Pettisville – Fulton – Gabe Beck* – Rebecca Dorosz
Pike-Delta-York – Fulton – Mary Miller – Jane Foor
Stryker – Williams – Emma Shindledecker – Laurin Wyse
Swanton – Fulton – Allison Mishka – Ron Kauffman
Wauseon – Fulton – Elizabeth Yackee – Andrea Stevens


© 2017, The Village Reporter and/or Associated Press (AP). All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


Be the first to comment on "28th Annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award Winners Announced"

Leave a Reply