42 Students Join National Honor Society At WHS

NHS SENIOR OFFICERS WEBThe Nation Honor Society chapter at Wauseon High School welcomed 42 students at the annual NHS assembly recently.

Membership in the National Honor Society is based on scholarship, leadership, character, and service. At the end of the first semester each year, the academic records of sophomores, juniors, and seniors are reviewed to determine scholastic eligibility and classwork rigor.

Eligibility is based on the maintenance of a 3.500 cumulative grade point average (3.700 for eligible sophomores) Scholastically eligible students are notified and asked to complete Student Activity Information Questions if they wish to be considered for membership.

Thomas Brady, The NHS Adviser at WHS, and NHS Faculty Council review the scholastic records of the candidates, the rigor of the academic schedule, student activity information responses, and faculty evaluations. Membership is determined by the Faculty Council.

Members are typically required to complete a minimum of 15 community service hours per year and also to meet minimum fund raising and grade point average requirements.

NHS members have two annual lunch pizza parties and the Induction Ceremony is usually held in April.

NHS members have provided community service for a wide variety of organizations. This year, NHS members will provide over 600 hours of community service.

The Wauseon Chapter of the National Honor Society also sponsors 1-3 scholarships for graduating seniors. This year’s winners of 300.00 scholarships are Olivia Banister, Breanna Demaline, and Mackenzie Eberly.

Entering the NHS chapter include juniors: Brianna Andrews, Karla Bautista, Nathanaela (Ella) Bautista, Samantha Beaton, Kennedy Gebhart, Braelyn Humbert, Halen Mealer, Kaitlyn Precht, Jacob Evan Raabe, Grant Suntken and Beth Yackee. Sophomores entering include: Amanda Baker, Lucas Blanchong, Everett Bueter, Karli Callahan, Halle Floss, Avery Giguere, Kendra Gorczyca, Brooks Logan Gype, Conner Hicks, Carisa Hoffman, Conner Johnson, Lance William Jutze, Evan Kost, Chloe Lane, Kathryn Ann Claire McKean, Paige Moden, CJ Moser, Jessica Newlove, Owen Newlove, Karli Penrod, Dalton Rice, Jennifer Sanders, Camden Sauber, Zach Siefker, Reagan Spadafore, Sophia Stockham, Carter Stump, Aleithea (Ally) Tefft, Kyle Vernot, McCormick Warncke, Madelyn Wendt.


© 2016, The Village Reporter and/or Associated Press (AP). All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


Be the first to comment on "42 Students Join National Honor Society At WHS"

Leave a Reply