Area Schools Send 15 Incredible Wrestlers To State Competition

The Wauseon Indians dominated the competition at the Division II district match in Mansfield from Start to finish. The Indians totaled 207.50 points to 132.00 for runner up Ashland. Seven Wauseon wrestlers will make their way to the Schottenstein Center on the campus of Ohio State University for the action beginning Thursday and concluding Saturday. The seven advancing include: Gavin Ritter (106#), Hunter Yackee (132#), Sandro Ramirez (145#), Andrew Bailey (160#) and Tony Banister (195#). Ramirez and Banister return for their third trip to state and Yackee is back for his second time. Jarrett Bischoff (120#) and Xavier Torres (152#) both garnered second place finishes to help Wauseon to the District title. In the Division III match at Toledo Waite, Swanton was the highest finisher in the team race with a fourth place finish. The Bulldogs qualified three wrestlers including: Chase Moore (145#), Crew Oberhiem (195#) and Thomas Lytle (285#). Moore finished eighth at last year’s state tournament. Delta will send two wrestlers to Columbus including: Cole Mattin (120#) Drew Mattin the district champion at 126#. Drew Mattin will be competing in his fourth straight state tournament as a two-time state champ. The Panthers finished sixth as a team. Archbold had two qualifiers in Gavin Grime (132#) and Noah Mattin (138#). Jared Fahrer (106#) is Evergreen’s lone qualifier.

© 2017, Forrest Church. All rights reserved.


Be the first to comment on "Area Schools Send 15 Incredible Wrestlers To State Competition"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.