Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards Winners Annoucnced

The Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award’s Program was established by the Ohio Superintendent’s Educational Service Center Association to promote student achievement and recognize outstanding students. A senior from each county within the State of Ohio will receive the award annually. This scholarship award is named in honor of Franklin B. Walter, who served as State Superintendent Of Education for Ohio from March 1977 until August 1991. Throughout his career, Dr. Walter exemplified concern for young people and dedicated his life to the improvement of education in Ohio.

Applicants must be a high school senior from a local, city or exempted village school within the County. Eligible students must demonstrate outstanding academic achievements as indicated by high school test scores and achievement awards as stipulated by the Franklin B. Walter program. The students are expected to have been a positive contributor in their high school and in their Community. All applications must be completed according to deadlines established.

The Northwest Ohio Educational Service Center, serving Defiance, Fulton, Henry and Williams Counties, fully support the Franklin B. Walter Program. The NwOESC Franklin B. Walter Recognition and Celebration program was held on Monday, March 10th, 2014 at the Northwest Ohio Educational Service Center building in Archbold, OH. The NwOESC expanded the recognition to include one outstanding student in each of our 23 school districts as well as the Four County Career Center to receive a scholarship award of $200 each. Then, one student from each county is selected and the overall county winner and is awarded $500.

To promote teaching excellence, along with student achievement, one teacher is recognized in each district. The district student winners are asked to write a tribute to the teacher who has been the most positive influence on the student’s success in school. The students provide the tributes to the teacher at the recognition celebration. In addition, one special education provider is recognized from each county for the work done on behalf of students with disabilities across northwest Ohio. These special educators are nominated by area administrators for going above and beyond in their work.

The local winners are: Marcus Stoltzfus of Fayette, honoring Teacher Barbra Bruggeman. Christopher Yackee of Wauseon, honoring Teacher Eric Richer. Baylee Gearhart of Edon, honoring Teacher Lauren Hurtig. Emily Maneval of Millcreek, honoring Teacher Cristin Hagans. Conner Varner of Stryker, honoring Teacher Katie Jimenez. Marinna Mercer of Montpelier, honoring Teacher Matthew Kaullen, and Nathaniel McBride of North Central, honoring Teacher Amanda House.

© 2014 – 2016, The Village Reporter and/or Associated Press (AP). All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


Be the first to comment on "Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards Winners Annoucnced"

Leave a Reply