Stryker Chapter Of The National Honor Society Inducts Six New Members At Annual Meeting


The Stryker High School Chapter of the National Honor Society held their annual meeting on March 18, welcoming six new members to the Stryker Chapter. The students selected for the Stryker High School, 2014 induction are: Seniors Megan Neville and Kyle Rohrs; Juniors Amy Chappuis, Zach Tingley, Tanner Clingaman and Katie Yoder.

The National Honor Society was established in 1921, and is the Nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high schools students who demonstrate excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service and character. According to the National Honor Societies website (, four main purposes have guided the chapters of the NHS from the beginning: to create enthusiasm for scholarship; to stimulate a desire to render service; to promote leadership; and to develop character in the students of secondary schools. These purposes also are used by chapters as established criteria for membership selection into each local chapter.

At Stryker High School, Katie Jimenez serves as the NHS Advisor, and is assisted in her duties by faculty members Melanie Baldwin, Shane Marshall, Donneen Dyess, Mike Donovan and Principal David Schultz. Using the criteria set forth above, Katie Jimenez and her committee reviewed this year’s candidates by closely scrutinizing each student’s overall record, and comparing the student’s achievements in the four categories set forth by the NHS.

Each category is explained as follows: Scholarship represents the academic component of National Honor Society induction requirements. The national organization recommends a B average, meaning an 85 percent on a 100-point scale or a 3.0 on a 4.0 grade point average scale. However, the faculty advisers at each school can choose higher scholarship standards. The scholarship portion of the NHS requirements is the first cut for applicants—faculty will not consider any student who does not meet these academic requirements.

National Honor Society hopefuls must also demonstrate service to the school, their church or community to join the organization. Students can showcase this service experience by participating in individual service projects after school or on weekends.

Students interested in joining the National Honor Society must demonstrate leadership capabilities as well. They can show leadership by earning roles as captains of sports teams or executive councils of clubs. According to the National Honor Society website, leadership also includes the ability to solve problems, contribute ideas and be resourceful. Students can look beyond school extracurricular activities for leadership opportunities and find them in their community.

Students also must demonstrate a strong character to be inducted into the National Honor Society. They can display their character by following school rules and staying out of trouble. A NHS inductee can further show strong character by demonstrating honesty, reliability, courtesy and respect; students should demonstrate “a teachable spirit and a genuine interest to learn and grow.”

The 2014 inductees join Stryker Seniors Dean Beamont, Kristie Huston, Conner Varner, Conner Sullivan, Ruthann Stuckey, Bailey Short, and comprise the current active student members of the Stryker Chapter of the National Honor Society.

© 2014 – 2016, Forrest Church. All rights reserved.


Be the first to comment on "Stryker Chapter Of The National Honor Society Inducts Six New Members At Annual Meeting"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.