Wauseon Claims 12th NWOAL Tournament Trophy

The Wauseon Indians ran away from the field to carry home their 12th league championship trophy during wrestling action at Patrick Henry High School.

Team scoring shows Wauseon’s dominance over the other eight league teams. The Indians won with 295 points including nine individual champions. Swanton finished second with 184.50 points. The order of finish for the remainder of the teams included: Liberty Center (135.00), Archbold (134.50), Delta (129.50), Montpelier (78.00), Patrick Henry (56.00), Evergreen (50.00) and Bryan (23.00).

Besides their nine champions, Wauseon had two seconds and three thirds. Winning individual titles for the Indians included: Gavin Ritter #106 with a 13-5 major decision over Jared Fahrer of Evergreen. Winning a first league championship and becoming the first female to ever win a NWOAL championship in the 54-year history of the event was McKayla Campbell #113 as she defeated Swanton’s Zach Schaller with a 19-4 technical fall. Hunter Yackee 132# won a tough match with a 2-1 decision over Gavin Grime of Archbold. Mauricio Barajas 138# also was a winner by one point with a 4-3 decision over Noah Mattin of Archbold. Sandro Ramirez 145# followed with a convincing 17-1 technical fall over Tommy Wolfenbarger of Montpelier. At 152# Xavier Torres was a 5-3 winner over Austin Wilson of Archbold. Andrew Bailey 160# gave the Indians their seventh match win with a 10-0 major decision over JD Osborn of Delta. At 195# Tony Banister became the twelfth wrestler in league history to wrestle his way to his fourth straight title. Banister was a 2-0 winner over Caleb Carpenter of Liberty Center. The final Wauseon winner came at 285# where Alex Sosa was a 3-2 winner over Tommy Lytle of Swanton.

Other area champions included Cole Mattin 120#, 126# Drew Mattin and Dylan Rogers of Delta and Zach Leahey of Swanton at 170#.

Other finishers and their schools not mentioned above included: 106# Dawson Liechty (Archbold) 3rd, Cameron Henneman (Liberty Center) 4th, Dakota Minck (Bryan) 5th, Christopher Perkins (Montpelier) 6th; 113# Brayden Custer (Montpelier) 3rd, Deven Paradyse (Liberty Center) 4th; 120# Cole Mattin (Delta) 1st, Nolan Ray (Wauseon) 2nd, Trevor Schaller (Swanton) 3rd, Colin Johnson (Liberty Center) 4th, Austin Baker (Archbold) 5th; 126# Drew Mattin (Delta) 1st, Jarrett Bischoff (Wauseon) 2nd, Dylan Cook (Swanton) 3rd, Zane Peterson (Liberty Center) 4th, Brock Gerken (Patrick Henry) 5th, Travis Mersing (Evergreen) 6th; 132# Gage Pachhofer (Swanton) 3rd, Carl Yaney (Liberty Center) 4th, Max Neiling (Patrick Henry) 5th, CJ Leffler (Delta) 6th; 138# Colin Hoffman (Delta) 3rd, Tyler Kay (Liberty Center) 4th, Noah Saunders (Swanton) 5th, Nathan Hutchinson (Montpelier) 6th; 145# Julian Bostelman (Liberty Center) 3rd; Noah Quintanilla (Archbold) 4th, Tristen Saeger (Delta) 5th, Thomas Pollard (Evergreen) 6th; 152# Ryan Marvin (Swanton) 3rd, Bryer Bentley (Montpelier) 4th, Tanner Rauch (Liberty Center) 5th, Brian Floyd (Evergreen) 6th; 160# Tyler Houston (Swanton) 3rd, Kasyn Schaffner (Archbold) 4th; 170# Zach Leahey (Swanton) 1st, Tyler Echler (Liberty Center) 2nd, Trent Davis (Wauseon) 3rd, Trey Malosh (Evergreen) 4th, Mason Babcock (Archbold) 5th, Michael Rios (Montpelier) 6th; 182# Dylan Rogers (Delta) 1st, Wil Morrow (Patrick Henry) 2nd, Aaron Harris (Wauseon) 3rd, Mitchel Reisinger (Swanton) 4th, CJ Roth (Montpelier) 5th, Ray Culler (Liberty Center) 6th; 195# Crew Oberheim (Swanton) 3rd, Connor Ford (Bryan) 4th, Gibson Burkholder (Archbold) 5th, Dalton Richard (Delta) 6th; 220# Kent Peterson (Patrick Henry) 1st, Greg Wilson (Swanton) 2nd, Samueal Sosa (Wauseon) 3rd, Trevor Short (Archbold) 4th, Mason Foote (Montpelier) 5th, Carter Hoffman (Bryan) 6th; 285# Anthony Gonzales (Archbold) 3rd, Noah Conklin (Montpelier) 4th, Jacob Embree (Liberty Center) 5th, Nate Krohn (Evergreen) 6th.

Bill Bray may be reached at publisher@thevillagereporter.com

© 2017, Forrest Church. All rights reserved.


Be the first to comment on "Wauseon Claims 12th NWOAL Tournament Trophy"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.